Call for Speakers!!!

2022 Arizona Health & Safety Summit: Call for Presenters
ASSP Arizona Chapter’s annual health & safety summit is the state’s leading industry event. Apply to speak at this summit and contribute to the professional conversation about safety.

Call for Presenters

  • 2022 Arizona Health and Safety Summit
  • Location: Phoenix, Arizona
  • Date: April 21, 2022
  • Attendees: ASSP Members and All Registered Participants 

Proposal Details

  • Length of Presentation: Maximum 1 hour, including questions
  • Pertinent Biographical Information: Brief introduction of the presenter. (50 words)


  1. Name
  2. Education
  3. Current Position
  4. Contact information (work phone number and e-mail) for three reference
  • Proposal Deadline: November 15, 2021
  • Presentation Description: Describe your presentation and specify expected learning outcomes for attendees. (50 words)
  • 3 Learning Objectives: List three primary learning outcomes for your presentation.
  • Brochure Description: Provide a maximum 50-word description of the presentation to be included in the summit brochure.

Fill out the google form to submit your proposal.

Bylaws Revision

We have made some changes to our bylaws, the rules that govern how the chapter operates. The current bylaws can be viewed here. We have made 2 changes. First, any requirement within the by-laws that required a member to be a Professional Member was changed to standard Member. Second, we reduced the positions on the Executive Board from 9 to 7. The Bylaws chair was removed as an executive board position and the Awards & Honors and Nominations and Elections positions were combined into the Awards, Honors, Nominations, and Elections Chair. You can view the revised bylaws here. The revised changes have been approved by chapter leadership. We will be voting on these changes to the bylaws at our October Technical meeting. The bylaws state any changes must be presented to membership for 30 days prior to the vote. If we do not have the required number of members to approve a vote, we will be sending an electronic vote. If you have any additional questions, please contact president@az.assp.org or bylaws@az.assp.org.

Technical Meeting Update

Hello! We were hoping to start in-person meetings this upcoming September, but due to the recent rise in COVID infections, hospitalizations, and deaths we have decided, as an organization of Safety Professionals, to hold our first 3 meetings this chapter year virtually using our GoToMeeting platform. This will utilize the same system as last year. When you register for a technical meeting, your registration approval email will contain a link for the GoToMeeting.

We are hoping that improved vaccination rates, use of masks, and adherence to public health guidance will lower infection rates and we will be able to meet in person starting in December with a big Christmas meeting. We will keep you updated on meeting status here on the website and in upcoming newsletters. Thank you for your understanding and patience. We miss seeing everyone in person just as much as you do!

US Department of Labor announces final rule to rescind March 2020 joint employer rule

The U.S. Department of Labor today announced a final rule to rescind an earlier rule, “Joint Employer Status under the Fair Labor Standards Act” that took effect in March 2020. By rescinding that rule, the Department will ensure more workers receive minimum wage and overtime protections of the Fair Labor Standards Act

The rescinded rule included a description of joint employment contrary to statutory language and Congressional intent. The rule also failed to take into account the department’s prior joint employment guidance. The U.S. District Court for the Southern District of New York vacated most of the rule in 2020. Under the FLSA, an employee can have more than one employer for the work they perform. Joint employment applies when – for the purposes of minimum wage and overtime requirements – the department considers two separate companies to be a worker’s employer for the same work. For example, a joint employer relationship could occur where a hotel contracts with a staffing agency to provide cleaning staff, which the hotel directly controls. If the agency and the hotel are joint employers, they are both responsible for worker protections. A strong joint employer standard is critical because FLSA responsibilities and liability for worker protections do not apply to a business that does not meet the definition of employer. The final rule becomes effective September 28, 2021. For more information about the FLSA or other laws it enforces, visit the Wage and Hour Division, or call toll-free 1-866-4US-WAGE.

Congrats Tim & Melissa!

Please join us in congratulating Tim Page-Bottorff and Melissa Schmaltz on their recent election victories! Tim is the new Director-At-Large for the ASSP Society Board and Melissa is the new Regional Vice President for Region II. We know they’ll do great work in their roles, they are phenomenal servant leaders!